Two new railcars to start between Lahore and Rawalpindi from September 16

new railcars

The Pakistan Railways has decided to introduce two new railcars between Lahore and Rawalpindi from September 16 in a bid to facilitate passengers. 

According to the official from the Pakistan Railways on Friday, following the direction of Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique, the first 109-Up non-stop railcar will commence its journey on September 16 from Lahore at 7:30 pm which will arrive in Rawalpindi at 11:55 pm while 110-Down will leave for Lahore from Rawalpindi at 7:30 pm and would reach at its destination at 11:55 pm after stopovers at Gujrat and Chaklala railway stations. 

“The rail cars have been started on the special instructions of Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique which would not only provide comfortable journey to passengers but also help increase in department revenue,” the official added. 

Read more: Planning Minister directs to start cargo shuttle service from Lahore to Karachi

From September 16, the second railcar (117-Up) will also start its operation from Lahore at 5:00 am which will reach Rawalpindi at 9:40 am after stopovers at Jehlum, Gujranwala, and Chaklala. In addition, the 118-Down railcar will depart Rawalpindi for Lahore at 5:00 am and will end its journey at 9:40 am with three stopovers at Gujranwala, Jehlum, and Chaklala. 

PR sources further said that the two railcars will have two A/C business classes, two A/C standards, five economy, and a power van coaches. 

Moreover, the special rail cars between Lahore-Rawalpindi, the official said, had received an overwhelming response from thousands of passengers between the routes and they expressed massive gratitude to Pakistan Railways for facilitating them. 

Replying to a question, he said Pakistan Railways were also looking forward to upgrading five major railway stations all over the country on modern lines to facilitate the passengers. “The purpose to upgrade the railway stations is to make them commercial hubs for business activities and facilitate the passengers,” he said. These five major railway stations Karachi, Lahore, Faisalabad, Peshawar and Quetta were also included in the up-gradation. 

Most Popular

To Top