Top 5 football league winners

football league

The football league season is finally coming to an end where two titles and many positions were decided on the final day. From Champions League qualification to relegation, the football fans remained on their toes. 

Ac Milan Crowned Seria A Champions 

After defeating Sassuolo, AC Milan was crowned Serie A champions for the first time since the 2010-11 season. 

Stefano Pioli’s side only needed to avoid defeat on the final day of the season to claim their first Scudetto in almost a decade. 

At the top of Serie A, the Rossoneri had established a two-point lead over Inter, with whom they also had a head-to-head advantage. 

Read more: Cristiano Ronaldo overtakes Messi as highest-paid football player

And they ensured their victory with a 3-0 win over Sassuolo, courtesy of goals from Olivier Giroud and Franck Kessie. 

Manchester City Win Premier League Title After Epic Fightback on Final Day 

Manchester City won the Premier League for the fourth time in five seasons after a tense title fight ended in a 3-2 victory over Aston Villa after the champions mounted an astonishing comeback from two goals behind. 

After going down 2-0 midway through the second half at the Etihad Stadium, Pep Guardiola’s side was on the verge of losing the title. 

City finished with 93 points, one more than Liverpool, putting a stop to Liverpool’s bid for a historic quadruple. 

Bayern Munich Win 10th Successive Bundesliga Title  

After beating their league rivals Borussia Dortmund 3-1, Bayern Munich won their 10th consecutive Bundesliga title in a very comfort way. 

Most Consecutive League Titles In Major European Leagues: 

10 – Bayern Munich (Bundesliga; 2013-present) 9 – Juventus (Serie A; 2012-20) 7 – Lyon (Ligue 1; 2002-08) 5 – Juventus (Serie A; 1931-35) 5 – Torino (Serie A; 1943, 1946-49) 5 – Real Madrid (La Liga; 1961-65 & 1986-90) 5 – Inter Milan (Serie A; 2006-10) 

PSG Crowned Ligue 1 Champions for Record-Equaling 10th Time After Lens Draw 

Paris Saint-Germain won a record- equaling tenth French league title. PSG has now won eight of the previous ten Ligue 1 titles, with only Monaco in 2017 and Lille denying them in last year. 

Meanwhile, PSG matched St Etienne’s record of ten top-flight titles achieved between 1957 and 1981. 

Real Madrid Win Record-Extending 35th La Liga Title After Thrashing Espanyol 

Real Madrid won their 35th La Liga title in front of a noisy Santiago Bernabeu crowd. 

With the La Liga triumph, their Italian coach Carlo Ancelotti became the first manager in Europe’s top five leagues, including England, Spain, Germany, Italy, and France. 

After coming off the bench late in the second half, Real Madrid captain Benzema lifted the trophy. 

Most Popular

To Top