PML-N bashed PM Imran for yet another cabinet reshuffle

Imran cabinet

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has slammed Prime Minister Imran Khan’s move to reorganise the federal cabinet, saying it demonstrates that he has “failed at his work.”

On Friday, Prime Minister Imran Khan reassigned cabinet members to separate portfolios. Among other notable changes, the prime minister gave famous banker Shaukat Fayyaz Ahmed Tarin the Finance and Revenue Ministry portfolio.

“This is the fourth finance minister in less than three years,” said Muhammad Zubair, a spokesperson for PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif.

Read more: Govt announces major civil service reforms aimed at improving governance

According to Zubair, the prime minister has changed his team once again, proving that he has failed in his role. He said that the prime minister’s removal of Hammad Azhar from the Ministry of Finance and his subsequent removal of Omar Ayub from the Ministry of Energy were just “temporary changes.” “These changes would not result in any improvements,” he said.

PM reshuffles cabinet, appoints Shaukat Tareen new finance minister
Azhar, who was appointed to the ministry a few weeks ago when the premier replaced him with Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, has handed over the keys to the new finance minister.

The federal government replaced Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh with Industries Minister Hammad Azhar as finance minister on March 29.
PM Khan was dissatisfied with the finance team’s handling of the country’s higher commodities prices.

Here are some of the other amendments to cabinet members’ portfolios:

  • Hammad Azhar has been named Minister of Energy, succeeding Omar Ayub.
  • Shibli Faraz has been declared Minister for Science and Technology, replacing Fawad Chaudhry.
  • Fawad Chaudhry has been designated Minister for Information and Broadcasting, replaces Shibli Faraz.
  • Omar Ayub has been nominated as Minister for Economic Affairs, succeeding Khusro Bakhtiar.

Most Popular

To Top