Yasir Shah replaces Sajid Khan as PCB names squad for Sri Lanka Tests

Sri Lanka

The team for the forthcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka, which is set to take place next month, has been released by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Yasir Shah, Pakistan’s crucial leg-spinner, will make his comeback to the men’s national cricket team after the announcement by chief selector Muhammad Wasim of the 18-member squad for the Test series.

Having taken 24 wickets at an average of 19.33, Yasir was crucial to Pakistan’s 2-1 triumph over Sri Lanka on their previous tour to the country in 2015. In August 2021, he played the West Indies in his 46th and last Test. He was unable to join the national squad, because he had lost his fitness since then.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka first test will be hosted by Sri Lanka.

After recovering from his fitness issues, the leg-spinner has now officially joined the team.

Read more: Sri Lanka to host Asia Cup 2020 instead of Pakistan

Another inclusion to the team is Salman Ali Agha, who has 4,224 runs scored and 88 wickets taken in first-class matches.

The third player to be recalled is Mohammad Nawaz. He was selected for the Australia Test team but was later removed owing to injury.

Three openers, four middle-order batsmen, three all-rounders, two wicketkeepers, two spinners, and four fast bowlers make up the team selected for the most recent ICC World Test Championship matches.

The first Test match of the series will be held at the Galle International Cricket Stadium in Galle from July 16 to 20, whilst second will be staged at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo from July 24 to 28.

A three-match ODI series and a two-match Test series were initially planned for Pakistan’s tour of Sri Lanka in 2022. The ODI matches, however, were cancelled in May 2022 because they were not a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League for the years 2020–2023.

Pakistan Tour Of Sri Lanka 2022 Schedule:

11th to 13th July 2022 – 3-Day Warm Up Match, Colts – Colombo

16th to 20th July 2022 – 1st Test Match GICS, Galle

24th to 28th July 2022 – 2nd Test Match RPICS, Colombo

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Most Popular

To Top