Rizwan and Shaheen shine in the PCB Awards 2021

PCB awards

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) awards for 2021 were presented at a dazzling ceremony in Lahore. The winners of each of the eight categories have been announced, with players being awarded for their outstanding contributions over the past year.

Let’s take a look at the winners one by one:

Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year

For his record-breaking year, Mohammad Rizwan was voted the Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year. In T20Is, he was unstoppable, and in Tests, he was indispensable to the Men in Green.

Impactful Performance of The Year

Shaheen got the award for Most Impactful Performance of the Year for his outstanding performance against arch-rivals India in the 2021 T20 World Cup. As Pakistan won the match by 10 wickets, Shaheen blasted away the Indian batting line-up.

Test Cricketer of the Year

For his outstanding year, Hasan Ali was named Test Cricketer of the Year. Hasan took 41 wickets, including five five-wicket hauls. Hasan’s outstanding efforts in Test cricket assisted Pakistan gain the best victory percentage in 2021.

ODI Cricketer of the Year

For his outstanding performance in the 50-over format, Babar Azam was selected ODI Cricketer of the Year. With 405 runs in six ODIs, Babar was Pakistan’s highest run-scorer in the format.

T20I Cricketer of the Year

For his outstanding achievements throughout the year, Mohammad Rizwan was named T20I Cricketer of the Year. Rizwan made history by becoming the first hitter in the world to score 1,000 runs in a calendar year, and he helped Pakistan win 20 games.

Read more: Babar, Rizwan declared the most destructive opening pair at the T20 World Cup

Domestic Cricketer of the Year

Sahibzada Farhan was selected Domestic Cricketer of the Year by PCB awards for his outstanding efforts in all three forms over the year. He finished the Pakistan Cup as the leading run-scorer and the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy as the second-highest run-scorer. In total, he scored almost 1,800 runs across all formats.

Emerging Cricketer of the Year

For his outstanding efforts throughout the year, Mohammad Wasim Jr. was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year. The kid rose to prominence after his outstanding exploits in PSL 6 and went on to make his international debut later that year.

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Nida Dar, an experienced all-rounder, was named Women’s Cricketer of the Year. In limited-overs cricket, she was outstanding with both the bat and the ball all year.

Spirit of Cricket Award

The spirit of the cricket award was given to the Pakistan cricket team for their lovely gesture and hospitality following their match against Namibia in the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Umpire of the Year

Asif Yaqoob received the award for Umpire of the Year for the second year in a row.

Most Popular

To Top