PCB announces squads for Asia Cup 2022 and Netherlands ODIs

Asia Cup Netherlands

A 15-person side for the ACC T20 Asia Cup and a 16-person squad for the matches against the Netherlands for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League were both released by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday. 

While the ODI series against the Netherlands will take place from August 16–21, the Asia Cup will be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from August 27–September 11. 

Hasan Ali has been replaced in both squads by fast bowler Naseem Shah, and Salman Ali Agha, who travelled to England in 2021 for the ODIs, has been called back. 

Shaheen Shah Afridi has been kept in the ODI and T20I squads, and the team trainer and physiotherapist will supervise his recovery process and make the decision regarding his return to international cricket. 

From the Netherlands ODI team to the ACC T20 Asia Cup team, there will be five changes. Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usman Qadir will take the position of Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, and Zahid Mehmood. 

Read more: Asia Cup to shift from crisis-hit Sri Lanka to UAE

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim claimed in a statement that the PCB had only made “changes that were essential.” 

“Both events are vital for us, thus in collaboration with the captain and head coach, we have chosen our best available players,” he stated. 

Pakistan Squad For ACC T20 Asia Cup: 

Pakistan squad for ACC T20 Asia Cup: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir. 

Pakistan Squad For Netherlands ODIs

Pakistan squad for Netherlands ODIs: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Zahid Mehmood. 

Training Camp 

The players’ training camp will take place in Lahore from August 6–11, and two 50-over games will be played there as well. 

The side will leave in the early hours of Friday, August 12, bound for Amsterdam for matches against Netherlands and T20I players will join the team in Dubai on August 22 for the ACC T20 Asia Cup. 

ASIA CUP 2022 Schedule: 

ACC T20 Asia Cup 

Group A – India, Pakistan and Qualifier (one of UAE, Kuwait and Hong Kong to qualify) 

Group B – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka 

Aug 28 – Pakistan v India, Dubai 

Sep 2 – Pakistan v Qualifier, Sharjah 

Sep 3-9 – Super Four Stage 

Sep 11 – Final, Dubai 

Netherlands Tour Schedule 

Aug 16 – 1st ODI; VOC Cricket Ground, Rotterdam 

Aug 18 – 2nd ODI; VOC Cricket Ground, Rotterdam 

Aug 21 – 3rd ODI; VOC Cricket Ground, Rotterdam 

Most Popular

To Top