Edhi Foundation

Pakistan’s humanitarian Bilquis Bano Edhi declared Mother of Humankind

Bilquis Bano Edhi

While celebrating the International Mother’s Day on May 8, 2022, SAARC-ASEAN Postdoctoral Academia and the Asia-Oceania Post-Doctoral Academia (AOPDA) conjointly adopted a resolution to posthumously declare two prestigious titles the ‘Mother of Humankind’ and ‘Epitome of Motherhood’ simultaneously, on Pakistan’s towering philanthropic Bilquis Bano Edhi to give honor to her paramount victory against infanticide.

As per a press release, released by the AOPDA Secretariat, it was the success of Bilquis Bano Edhi against infanticide due to which she had been declared as the mother of hundreds of thousands of unwelcomed children and the mother of the thrown-away and took her to the rank of the planetary mother.

Read more: Moments of silence observed globally for Bilquis Edhi

“Neither it’s ordinary nor simply the extraordinary that a single person makes clear divides in the course of history. But now, in the case of infanticide, the future historian and the history itself have to be divided and demarcated into the two: Pre-Bilquis Edhi era, and the Post-Bilquis Edhi era, and it’s a rare phenomenon – in fact very rare, even in the thick and thin of the centuries and millenniums… Now the whole battlefield has to build its cuts and marks on the very foundations that have been laid by Ms. Bilquis Bano — the ‘protector mother’ of the unwanted babies,” according to the AOPDA resolution of the International Mother’s Day 2022.

Moreover, the resolution was approved and duly consented by post-doc academics under the benefaction of Justice (retd) Dr. SS Paru, the Chancellor Emeritus of AOPDA from Indonesia. It was put forward and formulated by AOPDA PI Prof Dr. Aurangzeb Hafi of Pakistan- he was the co-recipient of the Bidecadal Merit Award with Ms. Bilquis Edhi.

Besides, Bilquis had also been awarded the Hilal-e-Imtiaz by Pakistan, the Mother Teresa Memorial International Award for Social Justice, the Lenin Peace Prize by Russia, along with the Ramon Magsaysay Award for Public Service.

Most Popular

To Top