New Zealand beats Pakistan by 9 wickets to win 4th T20I

New Zealand

Prior to the Twenty20 World Cup, New Zealand batter Finn Allen showed his form by leading the scoring for his team in their tri-series victory over Pakistan on Tuesday in Christchurch, which they won by a margin of nine wickets. 

At Hagley Oval, the Black Caps easily chased down 130-7 to secure their second victory of the series. Allen hammered six sixes in a total of 62 off 42 balls. 

Following the win by the hosts, Pakistan and New Zealand now each have two victories and one defeat. The Black Caps’ next opponent will be Bangladesh on Wednesday in Christchurch. 

The three countries are practicing for the T20 World Cup in Australia later this month during the week-long competition. 

Read more: Rizwan the man again as Pakistan beat Bangladesh in T20I tri-series opener

Prior to Allen and Devon Conway immediately finding their groove in an opening partnership of 117 to set up victory, the Black Caps improved their bowling performance in retaliation for their setback to Pakistan on Saturday. 

The Black Caps captain Kane Williamson took Allen’s place at the crease after he was stumped by Mohammad Rizwan, and finally scored the winning single as New Zealand won with 23 balls remaining. 

Conway was once again outstanding at the crease, scoring an unbeaten 49 off 46 balls after leading New Zealand to win over Bangladesh last Sunday with an unbeaten 70. 

With crucial dismissals of the deadly opening combination of Rizwan (16) and skipper Babar Azam (21), New Zealand bowler Michael Bracewell once again won the player of the match award. Bracewell finished with impressive stats of two for 11 from his four overs. 

Iftikhar Ahmed was the top scorer from Pakistan side with a total of 27, including three fours. 

In the last over, Iftikhar and Mohammad Nawaz were both bowled out by Tim Southee’s first two deliveries, while Mohammad Wasim was able to survive the hat-trick ball. 

In the Pakistani team, Haris Rauf was replaced by Naseem Shah as the young pacer’s health status improved. 

Playing XI: 

Pakistan: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Waim, Shahnawaz Dahani, Naseem Shah, 

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner 

Most Popular

To Top