Inter win Serie A title after Atalanta fail to beat Sassuolo

Inter Serie A

Inter Milan have clinched their first Serie A title in 11 years, ending Juventus’ nine-year dominance as Italian champions.

Inter Milan were crowned Serie A champions after a 1-1 draw with Atalanta in Sassuolo on Sunday.

The Nerazzurri have won the League title for the first time since their treble-winning season in 2009-10.

Since the turn of the year, Antonio Conte’s team has surged ahead of the early pace-setters, Milan, by 13 points.

Inter won 2-0 at Crotone on Saturday, leaving Atalanta with just a victory over Sassuolo to prevent them from celebrating.

Atalanta took the lead after 32 minutes when Robin Gosens scored after goalkeeper Pierluigi Gollini was sent off, but Domenico Berardi equalised seven minutes later.

Read more: 5 most comprehensive apps for everything football

Luis Muriel had a chance at keeping the title chase race alive when he won a penalty after a foul that earned Marlon Santos a second yellow card, but Andrea Consigli saved his clumsy attempt.

Inter’s victory puts an end to Juventus’ nine-year winning streak.

The Nerazzurri have won their 19th Scudetto, putting them ahead of Milan into second position behind Juve (36 titles).

Conte’s men have matched their points (82) and clean sheets (14) from last season, when they finished a point behind the Juventus.

Juve’s attention in the final weeks of the season has shifted to merely qualifying for the Champions League, as they were outside the top four heading into Sunday’s game at Udinese.

Most Popular

To Top