Gilgit-Baltistan Election 2020: PTI leads with 10 seats; independents bag 7 & PPP 4

Gilgit-Baltistan Election

There was a hustle and bustle in the past few days in Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) as residents of the picturesque snow-covered mountainous region enjoyed political rallies and events for the important Gilgit-Baltistan Election 2020. The people of G-B headed towards the polls to select their third legislative assembly. The voting began at 8:00 am and ended at 5:00 pm sharp. 

As per unofficial results, the ruling party of Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaaf is leading on 10 seats, then comes the independent candidates who have clear majority on 7 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party managed to clinch four seats and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won the election on two seats.

Meanwhile, the PTI partner in G-B Election Majlis Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) also grabbed one seat, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results. 

These are the unofficial results emerged from different constituency, 


The first unofficial and unconfirmed result came from GBA-24 where PPP’s Muhammad Ismail won the election after securing 6,206 votes, beating PTI’s candidate Syed Shamsuddin who took 5,361 votes. 


MWM candidate Muhammad Kazim, an ally of PTI grabbed the victory from GBA-8 after taking 7,534 votes, beating PPP’s contender Syed M Ali Shah who received 7,146 votes. 


The PTI nominee Raja Azam Khan secured proclaimed winner after bagging 10,674 votes, thrashing PPPs Imran Nadeem who took 8,886. 


Javed Ali Manwa, an independent candidate emerged as victorious as he took 2,570 votes in Gilgit-Baltistan Election and his opponent Rizwan Ali a MWM nominee got 1,850 votes. 


Another independent candidate Mushtaq Hussain announced victorious as he beat PTI’s candidate Muhammad Ibrahim Sanai after taking 6,501 votes, while his opponent fell short at 4,945 votes. 


Raja Zakaria Khan, PTI’s candidate declared winner after beating PPP candidate Syed Mehdi Shah who was also a former G-B Chief Minister. Raja Zakaria took 5,290 votes while Syed Mehdi grabbed 4,111 votes. 


PPP’s candidate Amjad Hussain claimed victory after securing 4,716 votes and beat Muhammad Ayub who was a candidate of Islami Tahreek Paksitan. 


In a tight margin the independent candidate Abdul Hameed got victorious over PTI’s Amina Bibi. Abdul Hameed bagged 3,666 votes while his opponent received 3,296. 


Independent candidate Raja Nasir Ali Khan announced winner after taking 4,667 votes beating PTI’s contender Wazir Hassan who took 3,344 votes. 


Khalid Khurshid Khan a PTI candidate claimed victory by taking 4,836 votes and his opponent a PPP’s candidate grabbed 3,117 votes.  


PTI’s runner Shamsul Haq won the seat for his party after taking 5,354 votes beating arch rival in G-B PPP who candidate only managed to take 3,473 votes. While PML-N candidate Rana Muhammad Farooq came third after securing 3,009 votes, 


PPP candidate Jamil Ahmed emerged victorious over PTI candidate Fateh Ullah Khan. Jamil received 6,848 votes and opponent took 6,229. 


The PPP candidate Amjad Hussain grabbed victory after taking 11,178 votes and beat the independent candidate Sultan Rais who got 8,356 votes. 


Syed Amjad Ali of PTI clinched victory as he defeated independent candidate Syed Musin Rizvi after taking 5,733 votes. 


Haider Khan a PTI candidate managed to grab a tight victory over JUI-F candidate Rehman Khaliq in Gilgit-Baltistan Election. Haider Khan took 5,389 and his opponent took 5,162 votes. 


PTI’s Gulbar Khan, took 6,793 votes and beat an independent candidate Malik Kifayar who received 5,187 votes. 


Independent candidate Wazir Muhammad Saleem grabbed victory in GBA-9 after taking 6,286 votes while PTI candidate Fida Muhammad Nashad received 5,187 votes. 

According to the data shared by G-B Election Commission, a total of 745,361 residents of G-B were registered to vote and among them 339.992 were women. 

Around 1,234 polling station was installed in 24 constituencies. 

Image source

Most Popular

To Top