Chelsea star Jorginho named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year


Jorginho, Chelsea and Italy midfielder, has been awarded UEFA Men’s Player of the Year for 2020-21. 

Jorginho, 29, won the award ahead of Blues teammate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne. 

After leading Chelsea to the Champions League, Thomas Tuchel was named men’s coach of the year. 

Read more: New Champions League format to be introduced from 2024: UEFA

Alexia Putellas, the Barcelona captain, won the women’s Player of the Year title. 

Chelsea Dominate Individual Awards 

Last season, Jorginho scored nine goals in 56 appearances for club and country, winning the Champions League with Chelsea and the European Championship with Italy. 

He began the new season by collecting the Super Cup in Belfast, which was his third Uefa title of the year. 

Edouard Mendy, a Chelsea teammate, was crowned goalkeeper of the year after preserving nine clean sheets on his way to winning the Champions League, while France Kante was chosen midfielder of the year. 

Ruben Dias of Manchester City was voted defender of the year after helping the team reach their first Champions League final in his first season. 

Tuchel was crowned men’s coach of the year after leading Blues to a victory over Manchester City in Porto, barely four months after taking over as manager from Frank Lampard. 

Forward of the year was Erling Braut Haaland, 21. 

Meanwhile, Aleksander Ceferin presented Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical staff that saved Christian Eriksen’s life with the Uefa President’s Award. 

Barca Make Near Clean Sweep Of Women’s Awards 

All except one of the women’s awards were won by Barcelona. 

Alexia Putellas, the captain, was awarded midfielder of the year in addition to winning the top title of women’s Player of the Year. 

Sandra Panos and Jennifer Hermoso, two of her teammates, were chosen goalkeeper and defence of the year, respectively. 

Lluis Cortes was crowned coach of the year after winning the Primeria Division and leading his team to their first Champions League victory in Gothenburg against Chelsea. 

Irene Paredes of Paris St-Germain won the defender of the year award, denying Barcelona a complete sweep. 

Jorginho Player of the year and other Men’s UEFA Awards 

Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea) 

Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea) 

Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea) 

Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City) 

Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea) 

Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund) 

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and medical team 

Women’s UEFA Awards 

Player of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona) 

Coach of the year – Lluis Cortes (Barcelona) 

Goalkeeper of the year – Sandra Panos (Barcelona) 

Defender of the year – Irene Paredes (PSG) 

Midfielder of the year – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona) 

Forward of the year – Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona) 

Most Popular

To Top