Can Karachi Kings defend title in PSL 2021 edition: an overview

Karachi Kings

Since the PSL started no team has been able to defend the title successfully, if Karachi Kings defended the title in HBL PSL 6 edition then they will be the first team since PSL inception. 

However, if Karachi Kings failed to do so they will be remembered as the PSL champions with shortest period after winning it in November when PSL 5 edition resumed after coronavirus hit the country. 

The former South African player Herschelle Gibbs will coach Karachi Kings as he was one of the finest white ball cricketers of South Africa. Late Dean Jones was replaced by Gibbs in the trainers of the Kings who died last year as a result of the heart attack. 

The Karachi Kings PSL 6 team looks structured with a combination of experience and youth. Babar Azam and Sharjeel Khan will lead their top order. 

Karachi Kings swapped Alex Hales of England with Islamabad United prior to the 2021 PSL edition and brought back Colin Ingram of South Africa from Islamabad United to strengthen their batting line up. 

They are also accompanied by Joe Clarke and Dan Christian, who are Imad Wasim’s teammates during the T20 blast in England last year at Nottinghamshire. 

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi is a useful addition to the Kings’ squad and can be beneficial for both bat and ball. 

Furthermore, opponents must take care of Qasim Akram, age 18, who surprised everyone during the Pakistan domestic T20 Cup through his whole performance. Along with him, Abbas Afridi is also ranked very high. 

Meanwhile, Pakistan’s disgruntled fast bowler Mohammad Amir will lead the pace attack of Karachi. The Karachi pace assault will be improved by Waqas Maqsood, Arshad Iqbal and Aamer Yamin. 

Karachi Kings PSL Squad: Imad Wasim (captain), Joe Clarke, Mohammad Abbas Amir, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammed Nabi, Noor Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan, Qasim Akram, Waqas Maqsood, Zeeshan Malik, Babar Azam, Chadwick Walton, Colin Ingram, Dan Christian, Danish Aziz, Aamer Yamin and Arshad Iqbal. 

Karachi Kings PSL Fixtures: February 20 – Quetta Gladiators, February 24 – Islamabad United, February 27 – Multan Sultans, February 28 – Lahore Qalandars, March 3 – Peshawar Zalmi, March 5 – Multan Sultans, March 7 – Islamabad United, March 10 – Peshawar Zalmi, March 13 – Quetta Gladiators, March 14 – Lahore Qalandars 

Most Popular

To Top