Pakistan Showcases Dominance in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League

Pakistan Slips In ICC T20I Rankings After Annual Update

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League came to an exhilarating conclusion, highlighting Pakistan’s dominance across various statistical categories. Bangladesh’s narrow victory over Ireland sealed the completion of the Super League, with New Zealand emerging as the overall winners of the inaugural competition. 

Designed as the primary qualifying tournament for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, the Super League determined the top eight teams securing their spots in this year’s 50-over showcase. 

Claiming 16 victories from 24 matches, the Blackcaps secured their place at the top of the standings, closely followed by reigning champions England with 15 wins from an equal number of games. Bangladesh secured the third rank, while India held the fourth position. 

Pakistan exhibited their prowess, finishing fifth in the competition with 13 wins out of 21 matches. Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa were the other teams directly qualifying for the World Cup through the Super League. West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands joined Ireland in the Qualifier tournament set to commence next month. 

Read More: Pakistan’s ODI Series Win Over New Zealand Sets Them Up Well for World Cup, Says Captain Babar Azam

Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, emerged as the leading run-scorer in the Super League, amassing an impressive 1454 runs with an average of 76.52. His exceptional performance included nine fifties and six hundreds. 

Additionally, opening batter Fakhar Zaman holds the record for the highest individual score in the competition. In a remarkable display against South Africa in 2021, the 33-year-old scored an impressive 193 runs off 155 balls, featuring 18 fours and 10 sixes. 

The Qualifier stage will now witness the bottom five teams from the Super League facing off against five other nations, including Nepal, Oman, Scotland, the United States, and the UAE. These teams secured their places through the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and the Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off. 

The Qualifier tournament is scheduled to commence in Zimbabwe on June 18, with the top two teams earning the final spots in this year’s World Cup. 

Most Popular

To Top