Pakistan Shaheens Breathe Life into Series with 177-Run Triumph Over Zimbabwe Select

The Pakistan Shaheens kept their hopes alive in the six-match series by defeating Zimbabwe Select by a substantial margin of 177 runs in the fifth one-day showdown in Harare. Despite the emphatic win, the host team still holds the upper hand in the series, leading 3-2 with one match remaining. 

Tasked with chasing a formidable target of 315, Zimbabwe Select’s innings stumbled early on. Pakistan Shaheens’ Shahnawaz Dahani disrupted the hosts’ momentum, sending opener Innocent Kaia (7) back to the pavilion in the fourth over of the second innings. 

The home side couldn’t establish a firm grip on their chase, regularly losing wickets. Dahani claimed his second victim, dismissing Wessly Madhevere (15), followed swiftly by Aamer Jamal’s removal of captain Sean Williams (15) in the succeeding over. 

Mehran Mumtaz, making his return to the side, took two wickets in quick succession, accounting for Sikandar Raza (9) and Tadiwanashe Marumani (19), further destabilising the hosts’ batting line-up. Milton Shumba’s stay was also brief, falling lbw to Mohammad Ali for 14. 

Qasim Akram was introduced into the attack in the 26th over and made an immediate impact, bagging the wicket of Brandon Mavuta (3) in a wicket-maiden over. Akram struck again soon after, as Luke Jongwe was caught by Hussain Talat for 3. 

Despite a valiant unbeaten 41 from Clive Madande, Zimbabwe Select were unable to cross the line, succumbing for just 137 runs. 

Dahani and Akram both took three-wicket hauls, with Mumtaz claiming two scalps for the Shaheens. 

Read More: Shaheen Afridi Defends Bowling Pace Amid Concerns, Stresses Performance Over Speed

Earlier in the day, after being invited to bat first, Pakistan Shaheens set a towering total of 314 for six, propelled by a stellar 139-run opening stand between Imran Butt and Haseebullah Khan. 

Imran Butt played an aggressive innings of 64 off just 65 balls, while Haseebullah complemented him with a well-crafted 62 off 77 balls. 

Zimbabwe Select made their first breakthrough in the 24th over, courtesy of a sharp run-out by Clive Madande, ending Butt’s explosive knock. Haseebullah soon followed, falling to Sikandar Raza. 

Omair Bin Yousuf, fresh from his magnificent 153 in the previous match, once again took centre stage, scoring an unbeaten 89 off 87 deliveries. 

The middle order struggled with Rohail Nazir (16), Kamran Ghulam (12), captain Hussain Talat (7), and Qasim Akram (13) all falling cheaply. However, Aamer Jamal bolstered the lower order with an unbeaten 24 off 18 deliveries, helping Shaheens reach their imposing total. 

On the bowling front for Zimbabwe Select, Brandon Mavuta picked up two wickets while Sikandar Raza and Luke Jongwe each managed to claim one. 

Most Popular

To Top