PM Imran Khan paid more income tax than Shehbaz, Bilawal, Gillani

Imran Khan

Prime Minister Imran Khan paid tax of Rs 9.85 million during tax year 2019 against Rs 282,449 paid in tax year 2018, reflecting an increase of Rs 9,572,510, revealed FBR.

According to the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR), released its 2019 tax directory for parliamentarians on Monday, shows that former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gillani paid no tax in the said year while Prime Minister Imran Khan paid Rs 9,854,959.

According to the document, the directory was chartered from tax returns filed manually and electronically till January 3. “This data only includes income and tax declared in returns filed to FBR and does not include agricultural income tax paid to provinces, sales tax, federal excise duty etc,” the document states.

Read more: FBR beats five-month tax target by Rs 298 billion, an increase by 36.5%

PM Imran has declared normal income of Rs 38,900,774 for the tax year 2019. However, there is zero tax within the category of share of tax paid as a member of association of person (AOP). The premier as parliamentarian paid Rs 103,763 in taxes in 2017 compared to Rs 159,609 in 2016.

Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin said that the FBR had been publishing the directory for the last six years. However, this time special efforts were made to make the directory more informative “which will help not only in educating taxpayers but also in encouraging compliance with tax laws as a national duty,” he said.

The PTI MNA from Karachi, Muhammad Najeeb Haroon, paid a whopping Rs 140 million.

Meanwhile, leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif paid Rs 8.2 million while PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari paid only Rs 0.53 million.

PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari paid Rs 2.2 million. Senior banker and incumbent finance minister, Shaukat Tarin paid Rs 26.6 million while former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi paid Rs 4.9 million.

Most Popular

To Top